Apple Fix MacBook Air Core Shutdown Issue

23Aug08

manilla.jpgApple have finally released a fix for the core shutdown issues plaguing MacBook Air owners. The support notes warns third party apps that alter the voltage or characteristics of the CPU are incompatible with the patch and that they should be removed before the update is applied. Although not mentioned by name, this warning is an obvious reference to Coolbook; a third party app that I covered in an earlier post that lowers the voltage fed to the CPU.

I have been running a newly patched MacBook Air for a few hours now. During that time I have had three flash videos running simultaneously along with Activity Monitor. I have yet to see a CPU core shutdown leading me to believe, that after a six month wait, the Apple update resolves this issue once and for all.

The MacBook Air update 1.0 is available through Software Update.

17 Responses to “Apple Fix MacBook Air Core Shutdown Issue”

  1. 1 ron

    you should download and apply this

  2. 2 cp

    does coolbook still work applying this patch?

  3. The support notes warn that the official Apple patch is incompatible with apps like Coolbook. For this reason I removed Coolbook from my system before applying the Apple update.

  4. 4 julio

    Anyone have any idea what exactly the update does? From my (scarce) research the issue was caused by the gpu being to close to the cpu and the transfer of heat from the heatsink causing the system to shutdown a core to alleviate heat. So, does this update just flash settings into the firmware that raise the max acceptable temp? If so, is this a good idea?

  5. 5 cp

    fyi, coolbook still works after applying the update. so if you are already a coolbook user, you don’t really need to apply the update. but if you do install the update, you can continue to use coolbook to control the voltage.

  6. An beneficial item for any existing long-haul flights exactly as well.

    One could say that the burberry that was lot was barely recognizable.

    This skill is one involved with the things those notice about personal.
    Magnetic water conditioner s we all have one.
    http://www3.famille.ne.jp/~takabasi/cgi/g_book/g_book.
    cgi

  7. My brother recommended I may like this website.
    He was once totally right. This post actually made my day.

    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  8. It’s amazing in favor of me to have a web site, which is beneficial in favor of my know-how. thanks admin

  9. It is not my first time to go to see this web page, i am visiting this site dailly and get pleasant data from
    here all the time.

  10. Terrific work! This is the kind of information that
    are supposed to be shared around the net.
    Shame on the seek engines for now not positioning this post
    higher! Come on over and seek advice from my
    site . Thanks =)\

  11. I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your information. This great
    article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new
    information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed
    as well.

  12. Hi there to every single one, it’s really a pleasant for me to pay a quick visit this
    web page, it includes priceless Information.

  13. I think this is among the most vital information for
    me. And i am glad reading your article. But should
    remark on few general things, The site style is great, the
    articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  14. I do not know if it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing problems with your blog.
    It appears as though some of the text on your posts are running
    off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thanks

  15. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?


  1. 1 Перегрев MacBook Air — или чем дальше в лес, тем толще партизаны « mac03.ru

Leave a Reply

